340 Projects Compete for Mies van der Rohe Award 2009

The European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation announced the list of 340 projects competing for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009.

Initiated in 1987, the EUR 60,000 prize is the highest award in European architecture and is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to recognize and commend excellence in the field of architecture and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies. In addition to the Prize, there is an Emerging Architect Special Mention that consists of EUR 20,000, which is granted to young professionals starting out on their careers.

Previous winners include Mansilla +Tuñón, OMA (Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon), Zaha Hadid, Dominique Perrault and Lord Foster.

Here are some nominated projects:

gatehouse-barkow-leibinger1Gatehouse, Ditzingen, Germany by Barkow Leibinger Architects (Photo: David Franck)

c42-flagship-manuelle-gautrandC42 – Citroen Flagship Showroom, Paris, France by Manuelle Gautrand Architecture (Photo: Philippe Ruault)

dupli-casa-jmayerDupli.Casa, Ludwigsburg, Germany by J. Mayer H. Architects (Photo: David Franck)

More information and nominated projects on: http://www.miesarch.com/en/press?cerca=&officina=-1&data=-1&pais=41

One thought on “340 Projects Compete for Mies van der Rohe Award 2009

Geef een reactie

Vul je gegevens in of klik op een icoon om in te loggen.

WordPress.com logo

Je reageert onder je WordPress.com account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

Maak een gratis website of blog op WordPress.com.

%d bloggers liken dit: